Save the Date

Monthly Chapter Meeting
2nd Wednesday

Executive Board Meetings


Go to monthly events

HBCU Connection --
Harris-Stowe State University
(Go to Links In Action)

30th Anniversary Hosting
'Little Black Dress Exhibit'
Sunday, April 24, 2016
MO History Museum

30th Anniversary Celebration
Sunday, May 15, 2016

30th Anniversary Picnic
Sunday, May 22, 2016
Forest Park Pavilion # 8

Cluster Event
November, 2016

(Go to programs)

Scholarship Awards Program
June, 2016

2017 Scholarship Gala
February 11

The Arts





(Go to Programs)

--Connecting Links
Lead the Way
(Go to Links in Action)

--Dr. Lillian A. Parks
(Go to Programs)

(Go to Links in Action)

National Assembly
June 29-July 3, 2016
Las Vegas, Nevada

T R E N D I N G . . . .
(Home page)

HBCU Linkage
(Go to Programs)

The Links, Incorporated and The Gateway (IL) Chapter

The late Sarah Strickland Scott and the late Margaret Hawkins founded The Links, Incorporated in 1946 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Today, The Links, Incorporated is an international service organization with more than 10,000 members in 283 chapters.

The organization is committed to education, civic and cultural activities in The Arts, Services to Youth, Health and Human Services, National Trends and Services, and International Trends and Services. Through these program facets, the organization is involved in efforts to enhance the lives of peoples of African descent.

The boundary of the Gateway (IL) Chapter encompasses both Illinois and Missouri. Organized by Dr. Lillian Adams Parks and chartered May 5, 1986, the chapter is the Original Bi-state Chapter in The Links, Incorporated.

Dr. Lillian Adams Parks

Charter Officers and Members
Lillian A. Parks, PhD President
Frankie M. Freeman, Esq. Vice President
Gwendolyn Key Recording Secretary
Gloria M. Patterson Corresponding Secretary
Vivian Adams Financial Secretary
Diane Thomas Treasurer
Katie H. Wright, EdD Historian
Fredda Witherspoon, PhD Parliamentarian


Donna Blackwell, PhD Annetta Hillard Mary A. Polk
Wilma Clopton, PhD Joyce Humphries Lillian Reed*
Myrtle Davis* Rosalee Johnson Joyce Thomas, PhD
Belma Givens Betty Lee* Cynthia Thomas
Audrey Gooch-Elliott Ruth Lewis Lena Weathers, PhD
Frances Gooden, PhD Lula Lockett, PhD Judy Woods-Williams
Johnetta Haley Fan McCollum, PhD Jane Woods*


Past Presidents 2016-2018 Chapter Officer
Lillian A. Parks Gloria Reno President
Frankie M. Freeman Darnetta Clinkscale Vice President-Membership
Judy Woods-Williams Nina Caldwell Vice President-Programs
Frances Gooden* Shevon Harris Recording Secretary
Ruth Lewis Stacy Edwards Corresponding Secretary
Julia Holmes* Courtney Vales Robinson Treasurer
Queen Fowler Andrea Johnson Lee Financial Secretary
Sandra Reid* Parliamentarian
Bessie Peabody Communications/PR
Carletta J. Harlan Protocol
JoAnne Hamilton-Parks